Category
Recent News
Category: E-Book
Download Now

How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours by Harry Mount
English | July 31, 2012 | ISBN: 0670919136 | EPUB | 320 pages | 15.6 MB

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories.

Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?

A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.

For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.

You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow.

Buy Premium Account To Get Resumable Support & Max Speed




Links are Interchangeable - No Password

Direct Download


Author: ken_uit_9xComments (0)
Go Back...
Full name:
E-Mail:
Security code:
Include security image CAPCHA.
update code
Enter security code: